How do user permissions work in Catalyst?

Follow

Catalyst is designed with two different levels of permission: Item Level Permissions and Site Level Permissions. Site level permissions are set through the User Security Roles, and apply a blanket level permission across everything in that category. The individual item level permissions are set through the Contributor and Owner roles on that item. The individual Item roles work best with users that have the User role, because the highest granted permission will always win out.

Below you will find the Catalyst Security Matrix. The "x" in the site wide permissions means a user with that permission can perform the corresponding action for all items for that module. The Item level permissions only apply to the item the user has been assigned to as an owner, contributor, or viewer.

Catalyst Standard Permissions Settings
    Role 
    Site Wide Permissions   Item Level Permissions
    Account Owner  BC Team ITDR Team Read Only User   Owner Contributors Viewers
Catalyst Act As Account Owner x                
BIAs Create x x              
View x x   x     x x x
Update x x         x x  
Approve x x         x    
Change Owner x x              
Delete x x              
Receive Update Reminders             x x  
Update Restricted Fields x x              
 Plans Create x x              
View x x   x     x x x
Update x x         x x  
Approve x x         x    
Change Owner x x         x    
Delete x x         x    
Receive Update Reminders             x x  
Documents Create x x x            
View x x x x     x x x
Update x x x       x x  
Approve x           x    
Change Owner x x x       x    
Delete x x x       x    
Receive Update Reminders             x x  
IT Plans Create x   x            
View x   x x     x x x
Update x   x       x x  
Approve x   x       x    
Change Owner x   x       x    
Delete x   x       x    
Receive Update Reminders             x x  
Exercises Create x x x            
View x x x x     x x x
Update x x x       x x  
Change Owner x x x       x    
Approve x x x       x    
Incidents Create x x              
View x x   x     x x x
Update x x         x x  
Change Owner x x         x    
Receive Update Reminders             x x  
Bullhorn Create x x x       x x  
  View x x x       x x  
  Update x x x       x x  
  Delete x x x       x x  
  Send Message x x x       x    
Exercise Requirements Create x                
View x                
Update x                
Delete x                
Management Review Create x                
View x                
Update x                
Delete x                
Resource Create x x x            
Update x x x            
View x x x            
Delete x x x            
Recovery Space Create x                
Update x                
View x                
Delete x                
Manage Assignments x                
Location Create x x x            
Update x x x            
View x x x            
Delete x x x            
Supplier Create x x x            
Update x x x            
View x x x            
Delete x x x            
Update Restricted Fields (Products/Suppliers Only) x x              
Product Create x x x            
Update x x x            
View x x x            
Delete x x x            
Update Restricted Fields (Products/Suppliers Only) x x              
Internal Contacts Create x x x            
Update x x x            
View x x x            
Delete x x x            
Application Create x   x            
Update x   x       x    
View x x x x x   x x x
Delete x   x       x    
Update Restricted Fields x   x            
IT Item Create x   x            
Update x   x       x    
View x x x x x   x x x
Delete x   x       x    
Update Restricted Fields x   x            
Risks Create x x              
View x x   x     x    
Update x x         x    
Delete x x         x    
Actions Create x x              
View x x   x     x    
Update x x         x    
Delete x x         x    
Users Create x                
View x                
Update x                
Delete x                
Update Restricted Fields x                
Security Role Matrix x                
User Audit Report x                
Account Administration Edit Account Settings x                
Manage CC Billing x                
Cancel Account x                
Dashboard Email Support x                
Customize Site Manage x                
Shared Document Sections Create x                
View x                
Update x                
Delete x                
Import Export Manage x                
Insights View x                
Alert Create x                
View x                
Update x                
Delete x                
Service Now Connection Create x                
View x                
Update x                
Delete x                
Service Now Mapping Create x                
View x                
Update x                
Delete x                
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments